Home 2017 Calendar Teams & Drivers Race Results Race Reports Gallery History F1 Fun Join Us Contact Us Banner Heading images158TI91P Lights out

Abu Dhabi

King Rosberg of the F1 World

A new world champion has finally been crowned! Despite coming second in yesterday's Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Nico Rosberg had a big enough points advantage over teammate and rival Lewis Hamilton to become the 2016 Formula One World Champion.

Hamilton had been unbeatable through the first half of the weekend and secured pole position. Having got a good start, it didn't look like things were going to be easy for Rosberg. Thanks to fresh rubber, Nico managed to keep up with the pace of Lewis.

Jenson Button's final weekend in the sport came to an abrupt and unfortunate end when his front right suspension failed on Lap 12 of 55. The Brit, who is retiring after 13 years in the sport, returned to the garage, where he was greeted by his family, friends and team personnel. Surprisingly he was in great spirits and even shed a few tears as he came to terms with the end of his F1 career.

The latter stage of the race was tense for Mercedes. Hamilton decided to ignore orders from the team, instead telling them to let he and Rosberg race. Although Lewis realised that the championship was slipping through his fingers, he continued to lead the race and keep Rosberg behind him and requested that the team allow him some form of glory in taking the race win.

Hamilton won the final race of 2016 but the limelight was quickly stolen by Nico Rosberg who became World Champion for the first time. Rosberg's achievement also allows he and father Keke, who won the championship 40 years ago to become the second father/son World Champion pairing, alongside British duo Graham and Damon Hill.


Driver of the Day: Nico Rosberg


1 Lewis Hamilton - 1:38.04

2 Nico Rosberg

3 Sebastian Vettel

4 Max Verstappen

5 Daniel Ricciardo

6 Kimi Raikkonen

7 Nico Hulkenburg

8 Sergio Perez

9 Felipe Massa

10 Fernando Alonso

11 Romain Grosjean

12 Esteban Gutierrez

13 Esteban Ocon

14 Pascal Wehrlein

15 Marcus Ericsson

16 Felipe Nasr

17 Jolyon Palmer

18 Carlos Sainz           DNF

19 Daniil Kvyat            DNF

20 Jenson Button        DNF

21 Valterri Bottas         DNF

22 Kevin Magnussen   DNF