Home 2017 Calendar Teams & Drivers Race Results Race Reports Gallery History F1 Fun Join Us Contact Us Banner Heading images158TI91P Lights out

2015: Austria

Rosberg Wins Active Austrian Grand Prix


Nico Rosberg won an active Austrian Grand Prix at the Red Bull Ring thanks to a mostly consistent performance.

The fierce battle at Mercedes was obvious from the word GO. Rosberg got a better start and pinched the lead from teammate Lewis Hamilton. However Nico was unable to bridge the gap due to an early Safety Car brought out following a large incident between Kimi Raikkonen and Fernando Alonso.

Despite the pack bunching up behind the Safety Car, Rosberg managed to blast away at the restart and build a 2 second gap between himself and Hamilton. Rosberg continued to up the pace, setting consistent fastest laps.

Retirements came thick and fast, with 4 drivers being lost in the first 10 laps. 2 more drivers were lost mid way through the race. This reduced the pack to only 14.

Penalties had been popular going into the race. They continued to appear during it, with a few drivers being awarded 5 second time penalties for silly mistakes. The most notable recipient was Hamilton. He had to push hard to keep a large enough gap to Felipe Massa to prevent himself falling down to third.

As the end of the race drew closer, the fight for the top 10 places got more tense. There were great battles between Williams, Sebastian Vettel, Force India, Pastor Maldonado, Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo.

Rosberg fought off last minute reliability worries to win the Austrian Grand Prix for the second year in a row. Hamilton secured 2nd place. Massa held off Vettel to take 3rd and his first podium of the 2015 season, a result predictd by his son Felipinho earlier in the weekend.


Driver of the Day: Felipe Massa


1 Nico Rosberg - 1:30.16

2 Lewis Hamilton

3 Felipe Massa

4 Sebastian Vettel

5 Valterri Bottas

6 Nico Hulkenburg

7 Pastor Maldonado

8 Max Verstappen

9 Sergio Perez

10 Daniel Ricciardo

11 Felipe Nasr

12 Daniil Kyat

13 Marcus Ericsson

14 Roberto Merhi

15 Romain Grosjean   DNF

16 Carlos Sainz Jr       DNF

17 Jenson Button        DNF

18 Will Stevens           DNF

19 Kimi Raikkonen      DNF

20 Fernando Alonso   DNF