Home 2017 Calendar Teams & Drivers Race Results Race Reports Gallery History F1 Fun Join Us Contact Us Banner Heading images158TI91P Lights out


Rosberg Reigns in Dramatic Desert Duel


Nico Rosberg reigned at the Sakhir International Circuit in a dramatic desert duel AKA the 2016 Bahrain Grand Prix!

There was drama before the lights had even gone out when Sebastian Vettel's Ferrari cruised down the back straight, followed by a huge cloud of smoke caused by an engine failure. This left three free spots on the grid; one for Vettel, another for Jolyon Palmer who retired at the end of the formation lap because of an issue and finally one for Kevin Magnussen who started from the pit lane due to a penalty received on Friday.

The drama continued on Lap 1 when pole man Lewis Hamilton was hit by a speedy Valterri Bottas and plummeted down the order. Both cars sustained bodywork damage. Sergio Perez and Carlos Sainz also made contact, promting early pit stops for damage repairs.

Many drivers completed stops within the first 10 laps, strategically moving themselves up the order. Unfortunately Bottas had to make an extra pause when he received a Drive-Through penalty for his collision with Hamilton on Lap 1.

Attention to the midfield pack battles was drawn by McLaren rookie Stoffel Vandoorne. He completed an incredible move on Perez, blasting around the outside of him without using DRS. Newbie Pascal Wehrlein also continued to impress the F1 community with his tenacious driving.

As the end of the race drew closer, drivers completed their final stops. This put pressure on their teams to deliver the perfect pit stop. The pressure was clearly mounting at Mercedes as Rosberg told his race engineer to stop talking to him on the radio, so that he could focus on guiding his car to victory.

After 57 laps of intense racing, Rosberg crossed the line to take his second win in 2016. Kimi Raikkonen and Hamilton rounded out the top three. Fireworks filled the night sky to celebrate another super sizzler F1 race in 2016!


Driver of the Day - Lewis Hamilton


1 Nico Rosberg - 1:33.34

2 Kimi Raikkonen

3 Lewis Hamilton

4 Daniel Ricciardo

5 Romain Grosjean

6 Max Verstappen

7 Daniil Kvyat

8 Valterri Bottas

9 Felipe Massa

10 Stoffel Vandoorne*

11 Kevin Magnussen

12 Marcus Ericsson

13 Pascal Wehrlein

14 Felipe Nasr

15 Nico Hulkenburg

16 Sergio Perez

17 Rio Haryanto

18 Carlos Sainz                DNF

19 Esteban Gutierrez        DNF

20 Jenson Button              DNF

21 Jolyon Palmer              DNF

22 Sebastian Vettel           DNF


*Replaced Fernando Alonso due to injury