Home 2017 Calendar Teams & Drivers Race Results Race Reports Gallery History F1 Fun Join Us Contact Us Banner Heading images158TI91P Lights out


Single Spa Success for Super Speedy Rosberg

Nico Rosberg sped around the infamous Spa-Francorchamps circuit to secure his first Belgian Grand Prix victory.

Rosberg led the pack away and got a great start. Unfortunately some of those behind him were not so lucky. A fierce Ferrari battle, that Max Verstappen also got dragged into, resulted in all three cars limping away with damage. Next lap, Carlos Sainz experienced a left rear tyre blow out. This caused lots of floor and wing damage, meaning he had to pull off the track and retire.

The Belgian Grand Prix and Eau Rouge are well known for hosting large crashes. This year definitely lived up to expectation on Lap 6. Kevin Magnussen spun at Radillon, the corner at the top of Eau Rouge, and pirouetted into the barrier. The incident resulted in a 15 minute red flag period whilst the wrecked Renault was recovered.

When the race restarted, DRS was finally enabled. This allowed championship leader Lewis Hamilton, who started from the back due to multiple penalties, to make up significant ground. Hamilton managed to haul himself up to P3 but this was nowhere near enough to catch his super speedy teammate Nico Rosberg.

Rosberg crossed the line to claim his first Belgian Grand Prix victory. However Rosberg's success was slightly overshadowed by the actions of his fellow podium occupants. Second place man Daniel Ricciardo celebrated by doing a Shoey (an Australian tradition where the driver drinks champagne from their race boot) with compatriot and ex Red Bull driver Mark Webber who conducted the podium interviews. Rosberg's teammate Lewis Hamilton finished in third place after starting from 21st due to multiple engine penalties.


Driver of the Day: Lewis Hamilton


1 Nico Rosberg - 1:44.058

2 Daniel Ricciardo

3 Lewis Hamilton

4 Nico Hulkenburg

5 Sergio Perez

6 Sebastian Vettel

7 Fernando Alonso

8 Valterri Bottas

9 Felipe Massa

10 Kimi Raikkonen

11 Max Verstappen

12 Esteban Gutierrez

13 Romain Grosjean

14 Daniil Kvyat

15 Jolyon Palmer

16 Esteban Ocon

17 Felipe Nasr

18 Kevin Magnussen   DNF

19 Marcus Ericsson     DNF

20 Carlos Sainz           DNF

21 Jenson Button        DNF

22 Pascal Wehrlein     DNF