Home 2017 Calendar Teams & Drivers Race Results Race Reports Gallery History F1 Fun Join Us Contact Us Banner Heading images158TI91P Lights out


Hamilton Continues Championship Charge in Canada

Lewis Hamilton continued to bridge the gap to teammate and championship leader Nico Rosberg taking his second win of 2016 at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Canada.

Hamilton started the race on pole but was quickly demoted because of Sebastian Vettel's lightning reactions, allowing him to jump from 3rd to 1st in a matter of seconds. After light contact with Rosberg, who subsequently dropped down the order, Hamilton began a charge to regain the lead.

An engine failure/fire for Jenson Button on Lap 11 brought out the Virtual Safety Car, giving Vettel the perfect opportunity to complete his first pit stop. Hamilton retook the lead. Fifteen laps later, Lewis gave the lead to Sebastian as he finally stopped for fresh rubber. Vettel took full advantage and drove flawlessly.

After their second pit stops, Hamilton had the lead but Vettel was in a faster car. Sebastian and his Scuderia gave it all they had but made multiple mistakes when attempting to catch Hamilton.

Lewis Hamilton crossed the line to take his fifth Canadian Grand Prix victory, the most wins at any circuit on the F1 calendar. He also closes the gap at the top of the championship to just nine points. The deserving duo of Sebastian Vettel and Valterri Bottas completed the podium.


Driver of the Day: Sebastian Vettel


1 Lewis Hamilton - 1:31:05

2 Sebastian Vettel

3 Valterri Bottas

4 Max Verstappen

5 Nico Rosberg

6 Kimi Raikkonen

7 Daniel Ricciardo

8 Nico Hulkenburg

9 Carlos Sainz

10 Sergio Perez

11 Fernando Alonso

12 Daniil Kvyat

13 Esteban Gutierrez

14 Romain Grosjean

15 Marcus Ericsson

16 Kevin Magnussen

17 Pascal Wehrlein

18 Felipe Nasr

19 Rio Haryanto

20 Felipe Massa     DNF  

21 Jolyon Palmer    DNF

22 Jenson Button   DNF