Home 2017 Calendar Teams & Drivers Race Results Race Reports Gallery History F1 Fun Join Us Contact Us Banner Heading images158TI91P Lights out


Great Britain

Hamilton Breaks Records in Britain

Lewis Hamilton broke records as he took victory in the 2017 British Grand Prix in front of thousands of adoring home fans.

Hamilton began the race from pole and got a smooth get away. Further back, it all kicked off for Toro Rosso as their drivers collided. Daniil Kvyat went wide and hit teammate Carlos Sainz as he rejoined. Sainz was left stranded on the side of the track. The safety car came out whilst the stricken car was recovered. A drive-through penalty was the punishment for Kvyat.

With Hamilton way up the road, the battle for the final two podium spots was left to Ferrari, Valterri Bottas and Max Verstappen. A very strong Bottas powered his way past both Ferraris to take second position. The fight for third was a little more challenging.

On the penultimate lap, Kimi Raikkonen dived into the pits. His left front tyre was punctured. He rejoined in 4th place. One lap later, exactly the same issue occurred for teammate Sebastian Vettel. Kimi passed Sebastian and regained 3rd - the final podium spot.

After 51 laps of flawless driving, Britain's Lewis Hamilton crossed the line to take victory in front of thousands of elated home fans. This win saw Hamilton break two records. Firstly, he became the only driver to have won the British Grand Prix four times in a row. Secondly, he became the only British driver to win five British Grand Prix in his career.

Hamilton celebrated his win on the podium with ex-teammate Jenson Button, in the pit lane with his inspirational guest Billy Monger (a young driver who lost his legs in a bad crash earlier this year) and by crowdsurfing across the start/finish straight.


Driver of the Day: Lewis Hamilton


1 Lewis Hamilton - 1:21.27

2 Valterri Bottas

3 Kimi Raikkonen

4 Max Verstappen

5 Daniel Ricciardo

6 Nico Hulkenberg

7 Sebastian Vettel

8 Esteban Ocon

9 Sergio Perez

10 Felipe Massa

11 Stoffel Vandoorne

12 Kevin Magnussen

13 Romain Grosjean

14 Marcus Ericsson

15 Daniil Kvyat

16 Lance Stroll

17 Pascal Wehrlein

18 Fernando Alonso   DNF

19 Carlos Sainz          DNF

20 Jolyon Palmer        DNF