Home 2017 Calendar Teams & Drivers Race Results Race Reports Gallery History F1 Fun Join Us Contact Us Banner Heading images158TI91P Lights out


Ricciardo Robs Mercedes of Glory





Daniel Ricciardo unexpectedly won the Malaysian Grand Prix, which seemed to be Mercedes' race to lose.

The race began with the Mercedes duo of Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg occupying the front row of the grid. Both drivers got away from the line perfectly. However, going into the first corner, things took a turn for the worst for Rosberg. He made contact with Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel, catapulting him to the back of the order. Meanwhile teammate Lewis Hamilton took full advantage and sprinted off into the sunshine.

Britain's Jenson Button was celebrating his 300th grand prix start, an achievement celebrated by the whole grid. Button also showed fellow compatriot and rookie Jolyon Palmer how to drive, holding him off throughout the race.

As the end of the race drew closer, a win for Hamilton seemed guaranteed. Lap 41 would argue otherwise as his engine spectacularly exploded. A deflated Hamilton stepped out of his scorched Silver Arrow and crouched down beside it with his head in his hands.

Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo took the lead from Hamilton, held off pressure from his teammate Max Verstappen and took his first victory of the 2016 season. He celebrated on the podium with Verstappen and Rosberg. In honour of Ricciardo's victory, all podium attendees did a Shoey - an Australian tradition where victors drink champagne from their race boot.


Driver of the Day: Daniel Ricciardo


1. Daniel Ricciardo - 1:37:12

2. Max Verstappen

3. Nico Rosberg

4. Kimi Raikkonen

5. Valterri Bottas

6. Sergio Perez

7. Fernando Alonso

8. Nico Hulkenburg

9. Jenson Button

10. Jolyon Palmer

11. Carlos Sainz

12. Marcus Ericsson

13. Felipe Massa

14. Daniil Kvyat

15. Pascal Wehrlein

16. Esteban Ocon

17. Felipe Nasr              DNF

18. Lewis Hamilton        DNF

19. Esteban Gutierrez   DNF

20. Kevin Magnussen    DNF

21. Romain Grosjean    DNF

22. Sebastian Vettel      DNF