Home 2017 Calendar Teams & Drivers Race Results Race Reports Gallery History F1 Fun Join Us Contact Us Banner Heading images158TI91P Lights out


Ferrari Magnificent in Monaco!

Sebastian Vettel and Scuderia Ferrari won the infamous Monaco Grand Prix in front of thousands of passionate fans and celebrities. The race is Ferrari's first win in the principality since 2001.

Kimi Raikkonen began the race from pole position for the first time in his career. He got a great get away, as did teammate Vettel, and led all 20 cars around the first lap incident free.

Vettel continuously set fastest laps, putting real pressure on Raikkonen and the Ferrari team. Then, a controversial decision was made as they pulled race leader Raikkonen in ahead of Vettel. Kimi was furious because this allowed Vettel to take the lead of the race where overtaking is vitually impossible.

With the help of fresh tyres, Lewis Hamilton managed to claw back some positions. This helped to make up for his bad Qualifying session on Saturday. He continued to be fast for the remainder of the race.

The Safety Car only made one appearance due to a very unexpected incident. Jenson Button and Pascal Wehrlein made contact in Sector 2, flipping the Sauber onto its side, leaving it lying against the barrier on the outside of Portier. Luckily when the marshalls flipped the car, Wehrlein climbed out without any visible signs of injury. Meanwhile, Button pulled off at the exit of the tunnel in his poorly McLaren.

As the drivers prepared to go racing again, many warned their teams that their cars brakes and tyres were too cold and may cause them to crash. The inevitable happened for Marcus Ericsson, who ploughed into the wall at Saint Devote whilst attempting to unlap himself. Stoffel Vandoorne was also a victim of cold brakes and tyres, unfortunate as he'd been on course to get McLaren's first championship point of 2017.

Sebastian Vettel spent the remaining laps cruising to his third victory of the season and first win in Monaco!


Driver of the Day: Sebastian Vettel



1 Sebastian Vettel - 1:44:44

2 Kimi Raikkonen

3 Daniel Ricciardo

4 Valtteri Bottas

5 Max Verstappen

6 Carlos Sainz

7 Lewis Hamilton

8 Romain Grosjean

9 Felipe Massa

10 Kevin Magnussen

11 Jolyon Palmer

12 Esteban Ocon

13 Sergio Perez

14 Daniil Kvyat

15 Lance Stroll

16 Stoffel Vandoorne   DNF

17 Marcus Ericsson     DNF

18 Jenson Button         DNF

19 Pascal Wehrlein      DNF

20 Nico Hulkenberg     DNF