Home 2017 Calendar Teams & Drivers Race Results Race Reports Gallery History F1 Fun Join Us Contact Us Banner Heading images158TI91P Lights out


Bottas the Ballerina Wins in Russia!

Valtteri Bottas made his mark at Mercedes and achieved his lifetime ambition by gaining his first victory at the Sochi Autodrom in Russia.

Despite starting third, Bottas had a great start and danced his way around the Ferrari's to take the lead. Like a Bolshoi ballerina, he took centre stage and maintained position until Lap 28.

Unfortuantely four drivers didn't have such a successful day. Fernando Alonso pulled out at the end of the formation lap due to a power unit failure. Romain Grosjean and Jolyon Palmer collided on Lap 1, laying their injured cars to rest in the tyre barrier. Finally Daniel Ricciardo pulled in on Lap 7 due to a right rear brake failure.

The mid stage of the race was all about consistent running and maintaining the cars. For Sebastian Vettel, it was also about reducing the gap to Valtteri Bottas.

In the final laps of the race, Vettel got himself within DRS range of Bottas. The tension was unbearable. The end of the performane saw Mercedes novice Valtteri Bottas dance gracefully across the line to claim his first F1 victory!


Congratulations to Valtteri Bottas and Mercedes AMG Petronas!


Driver of the Day: Valtteri Bottas



1 Valtteri Bottas - 1:28.08

2 Sebastian Vettel

3 Kimi Raikkonen

4 Lewis Hamilton

5 Max Verstappen

6 Sergio Perez

7 Esteban Ocon

8 Nico Hulkenberg

9 Felipe Massa

10 Carlos Sainz

11 Lance Stroll

12 Daniil Kvyat

13 Kevin Magnussen

14 Stoffel Vandoorne

15 Marcus Ericsson

16 Pascal Wehrlein

17 Daniel Ricciardo    DNF

18 Fernando Alonso   DNF

19 Jolyon Palmer        DNF

20 Romain Grosjean  DNF